2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
27 members (clothearednincompo, crab89, JohnCW, Georg Z., David B, Fried Chicken, AlkansBookcase, 8 invisible), 1,163 guests, and 298 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
R
Rallent Offline OP
OP Offline
R
Hi everyone,

Longtime lurker here. Now that I'm on summer break I have some more time to reflect, so I'm posting about something that has been plaguing me for quite a while now.

Some context: I'm a Masters student in piano performance -- went back to school after some time. I have experience teaching and accompanying, and and undergrad degree in piano performance. I'm a good sight reader, and have won scholarships and competitions. For this years juries, I played Beethoven op 90, Chopin Heroic Polonaise, and Bach's E major from book 1.

I've been having an issue in my performances ever since I started taking music more seriously (which was middle of undergrad):

Many (If not all) of the "Difficult' passages in whatever piece I play tend to get WORSE after I work carefully and intelligently on them.

Here is a typical example of the trajectory of me learning something:

After a few weeks (or a few months - if it's a longer piece) - I'll give a "First" performance. This is typically in a retirement center, my teacher's studio classes, or for a group of friends. It will generally go ok..maybe sound a bit "Green"..a bit rough around the edges. There will be some passages that are uneven or sound a bit shaky -- but generally everything is "there".