2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
69 members (Burkhard, apianostudent, Carey, Bellyman, AlkansBookcase, accordeur, akse0435, Barry_Braksick, 11 invisible), 1,858 guests, and 300 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
I
IraBob Offline OP
OP Offline
I
Hello all,
I'm new here, with a different background, most likely, than everyone else here.

I'm a tour manager and sound engineer for an internationally known music group. They were hugely popular 20 years ago, but not so much anymore. They are not playing nearly the number of shows that they used to.

Their agent is telling them that promoters have to spend too much money to book them, and with pandemic issues still on people's minds, the promoters aren't willing to take chances, and they want to reduce their costs, just as everyone else is trying to do. One way that we could lower our production expenses and help promoters to be more willing to book the group is to eliminate the rental and cartage and tunings of a 7' or 9' grand piano in those venues that don't already have one. The GP, mind you, is an important part of the show, both sonically and visually, even though it is embedded in a 30-piece orchestra and not the featured instrument. But compromises do have to be made occasionally, and their agent says more and more promoters are asking for that compromise. In some cities we've played recently, the cost of rental and cartage was $2500 and then the tunings are another $300 minimum. If we could bring that cost down to an $800 rental and cartage expense for a DP, promoters would be more willing to book the group.