2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
69 members (20/20 Vision, clothearednincompo, Colin Miles, bcalvanese, booms, 36251, Bruce Sato, Carey, AlkansBookcase, 9 invisible), 1,941 guests, and 259 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
1000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
1000 Post Club Member
I practice every day. I have a notebook, and I list all the new stuff for the week, and then two playlists that I alternate (thanks Bluekeys), and then some finger exercises. I do these EVERY DAY.

Yesterday, I started playing the songs on that day's play list and I couldn't play a single one. I didn't even know most of the notes. It was like I had never seen them in my life. After a while I just gave up because it was too frustrating. Today I tried the same list, and at first it was just as bad, but I played some easier stuff for a few minutes and then tried again, skipping the one I was having the most trouble with, and after a while I was doing fine. Whew!!!! What happened? Did my brain go on vacatioin? Does this happen to anyone else?

mom3gram

[Linked Image]
D
D
Yes it does happen to me and I do much the same as you did, walk away from it, then come back later whether it be an hour or a day. I try not to work through it when I am starting to get frustrated.

D
D
Did my brain go on vacation? Does this happen to anyone else?
Oh yes! I just wish it didn't happen so often in front of my teacher. I think she should let me play each piece twice. The first run being the blank-dumb-stare at a section I know, the second being the I-really-can-play-it version.