[Linked Image]

Hello all members of Piano World, thank you for reading this. Thank you also to Piano World for allowing me to post my details in this 'Who's Who' section. I am a great admirer of the site and of the way in which it celebrates piano music and pianists around the world, so am very pleased to be a contributor.

I am a pianist living in Fulham, West London, UK. I was a gifted musician as a child, playing the piano and composing, appearing in concerts from an early age. I trained with Denis Matthews and then Ryszardt Bakst, at the Royal Northern College of Music in Manchester, where I appeared in numerous public concerto and recital concerts. Winning the Elizabeth Hannah Lees Scholarship and the Frederick Dawson Prize, I looked destined to follow the typical career of a classical pianist.

Instead, I have been devoted to broadening my musical experience. I play, sing and write music in many different genres; I also produce and record and am an innovative and dedicated teacher. I have worked to find a way of playing the piano that is natural, powerful and accessible and ways of training music that champion real fluency and empowerment.

I am also the creator of Musically Fluent, an arena for students and teachers of music to explore a completely different approach to musical training. The focus of its approach is to unlock or unblock the natural musicality that human beings are designed to possess and to express.

I have performed regularly as a pianist for the past twenty years and am very keen to bring classical piano and great piano works to a new audience. Recordings of my playing can be found on my Phil Best MySpace profile or on Phil Best Music .

I can be contacted via email phil@musicallyfluent.com.

My piano repertoire is as follows:

CONCERTO REPERTOIRE

Schumann – Concerto in Am Op. 54
Beethoven –No. 1 in C major Op. 15; No. 2 in B flat major Op. 19 and No. 4 in G major Op. 58
Franck – Variations Symphoniques