2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
42 members (fred768, huaidongxi, Gord Webster, Alex Hutor, accordeur, Dore, AprilE, 6 invisible), 928 guests, and 286 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
L
OP Offline
L
Hello, this is my first post to the forums, so here goes. I am a college student who is studying music, and I really want to get my own piano. We had one growing up, but about 2 years ago our piano got damaged when a tree came through our house during a storm. At the home I now live in I no longer have access to an acoustic piano so for the past 2 years I've been getting by with just the casio keyboard that I own. I just sold my old cars (i had an old beemer and an old volkswagen beetle I fixed up) and I want to use the money to buy a nice piano. Since I look at a piano as a huge investment, I want to buy the nicest one I can afford. Right now I've got just over 10 grand for a piano and a local steinway dealer whom I know rather well said he might be able to get me a very used model B for around 25k which means I'd have to finance about 15g on it. I am very stressed over the idea of financing a piano at that much. So should I bite the bullet and go for the well-used steinway and make payments on it, should I keep saving until I can put more money into a piano? Also, I mean it's not the first piano we've ever had in the household but it'll be MY first piano so