2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
48 members (Burkey, ando, Beansparrow, c++, Bruce In Philly, Bett, CaseyVancouver, accordeur, 10 invisible), 976 guests, and 539 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 10 of 11 1 2 8 9 10 11
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
Originally Posted by terminaldegree
No problem, navindra. It's primarily what I do for a living, when I'm not posting on the forum, adjudicating festivals and competitions, or writing product reviews.

Scriabin is an acquired taste beyond the early opuses, that really didn't register on my radar until I was in my second year studying at a conservatory. It's very late romantic/early 20th century piano music... for piano nerds. When I was in my 20s I was really taken with his music. I taught a Russian Piano Literature class last fall semester, and the reaction from my undergraduate students to Scriabin was completely mixed-- not all of them liked it, but they generally knew it when they heard it on the listening exams. Your general unease with the opening motive can often be a useful tool in figuring out whether you're going to like a Scriabin work, because he tends to stick with those opening motives throughout so many of his piano compositions from start to finish.