2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
73 members (AndyOnThePiano2, APianistHasNoName, AlkansBookcase, Charles Cohen, BillS728, 36251, anotherscott, 12 invisible), 2,120 guests, and 337 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
S
Soojin Offline OP
OP Offline
S
I started playing the piano at age 7, like many kids did and still do in South Korea. From approximately age 10 to 22, I practiced a minimum of three hours a day every day. I just accepted the fact that my days were only 20 hours, instead of 24, because of the sacred hours devoted to piano practicing. I was lucky to have excellent teachers and supportive parents, and was admitted to a number of prestigious music schools in Seoul (Sunhwa) and in Montreal (Pierre-Laporte; Jean-Francois-Perrault, Conservatoire de Montreal). I competed in local, provincial, and national competitions every year. I graduated with a master's degree in piano performance. All that time, as an immigrant kid of modest means, I never even dreamed of owning a grand piano. My Yamaha C-108 wasn't good enough after a certain level, so I did most of my practicing at schools. Probably well over 10,000 hours people say is required to become an expert.