2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
58 members (APianistHasNoName, Adam Reynolds, Carey, brdwyguy, beeboss, Chris B, Cheeeeee, 10 invisible), 1,853 guests, and 274 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#3132658 06/29/21 06:20 PM
S
OP Offline
S
Brand new to piano. I’m sure there’s a very simple yes or no answer to this, but I don’t know it.

Triads and arpeggios. Do I need to practise them in every key?

Thanks in advance.

Steve

6000 Post Club Member
Online Content
6000 Post Club Member
If you are really an absolute beginner, then you probably want to wait a little while.

But, yes, eventually most people learn to play the scales and arpeggios in all the major and minor keys. How far you go with that is up to you.

What you can do as a beginner is learn to spell triads and chords - a very useful skill for pianists.

Sam

Back to School at 62: How I earned a BM degree in Piano Performance/Piano Pedagogy in my retirement!
ABF Online Recitals
ABF Recital Index
2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
My first teacher had me do the following my first year, 5 finger patterns and the circle of 5ths. You'll want a teacher or someone to watch you though, and observe your technic.

https://www.noteflight.com/scores/view/e111c3b1de6989a56c56c9358ac1b2399a4d7cc6

♯ ♮ ♭ ø ° Δ ♩ ♪ ♫ ♬
Yamaha C3X
YouTube
[Linked Image]

T
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
T