2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
66 members (AlkansBookcase, brdwyguy, 20/20 Vision, Charles Cohen, 36251, benkeys, clothearednincompo, bcalvanese, booms, 10 invisible), 1,967 guests, and 273 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
R
OP Offline
R
(sorry for the double thread, I've just seen this digital piano section and I think it's more suitable for my post)

Hi everyone!
Today I've just bought my first digital piano: Yamaha 515P.
I am a self taught keyboard player from Italy, and my previous keyboard was a Yamaha PSR S900.

Unfortunately, I couldn't be able to try Yamaha 515P before buying it because none of the stores in my region had it.
So, I've watched tons of videos and reviews online, and finally decided to buy it online.

It arrived today, and it's superb from every point of view, but... I find the general sound to be really muffled! I mean, it's not limpid, vivid, it's like very dark and hollow... I really can't understand if it's normal or not.
If I compare the sound to what I heard from every video online (even amateur videos), I can notice a huge difference.

I also tried to register a wav example and I notice this huge difference even in the recording.
I can't understand how the simple grand piano sound of my Yamaha Psr S900 can sound a lot more vivid and limpid than all the pianos in Yamaha 515-P!

I am really confused guys, so I definitely need your expert opinions... please help!

Here I'm posting some examples that may be useful for you:

AUDIO:
PSR S900:

515P:

VIDEO:
PSR S900:

515P:

D
dmd Offline
5000 Post Club Member
5000 Post Club Member
D