2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
93 members (36251, brdwyguy, Amadeus M., Adagiette, Brinestone, Boboulus, 15 invisible), 1,196 guests, and 477 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 5 1 2 3 4 5
500 Post Club Member
Online Content
500 Post Club Member
Originally Posted by Scott Cole, RPT
Although I am now a piano technician, I performed and taught as a violinist (with doctorate) for 30 years.

To start: having a degree has NOTHING to do with success as a musician. True, most classical musicians have degrees, but it’s not a given. Success—for any type of musician—is much more complex interplay of mental, emotional, and physical talents, plus a variety of situational factors. Here are just a few:

1. Early start, usually by 6 years of age
2. Excellent teaching
3. Extreme parental support, including financial.
4. Early exposure to high-quality performers and music. I was taken to Cleveland orchestra concerts as a child—that was my standard from an early age.
5. Early performance opportunity for the student
6. Unusual lack of self-consciousness (lack of stage fright that continues into adulthood, a very rare trait)
7. Extreme self-motivation (never has to be told to practice)
8. Extreme control over fingers, including ability to control trill
9. Near-photographic memory
10. Very high intelligence, near genius. Sorry but it’s true.