2017 was our 20th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
 Best of Piano Buyer
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
42 members (almo82, Calavera, cygnusdei, Anglagard44, Charles Cohen, dima5222, David B, Animisha, 14 invisible), 1,014 guests, and 732 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 18 of 20 1 2 16 17 18 19 20
C
500 Post Club Member
500 Post Club Member
C
Originally Posted by peterws
Originally Posted by computerpro3
I am a classical pianist and the ideal has always been a top-flight concert grand. It's what a lot of the music I play was composed for (romantic repertoire is my forte) and that is the period of music that sounds the worst on uprights in my opinion. Stuff like Bach WTC and Mozart can sound pretty darn good on uprights (I still think they do not have purity of tone that grands do), but I have never played an upright that can handle forte, densely textured romantic music without sounding either congested, hollow, or weak. Of course, I've not played every upright in existence - perhaps there are some out there that can do so. But I've actually never even played an upright that I preferred to an entry level Chinese made grand (a good one like from the Dongbei factories).

The piano in anything like its present form was not around in those days you speak of. The pianos of their time would not pass muster with most of us here and would surely be surpassed by a decent modern upright for sound, and probably even the action.