2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
36 members (Erinmarriott, David Boyce, 20/20 Vision, Animisha, beeboss, Cominut, brennbaer, crab89, aphexdisklavier, admodios, 4 invisible), 1,330 guests, and 281 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
1000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
1000 Post Club Member
Hey up all. A quick intro: not been around or had any time at the piano for around 6yrs. Wanting to take it bk up again, as I do miss it. I'm self-taught and can pretty much just play a few songs either by ear or learning/memoriesing sheet music, measure by measure. ...anyways, I'd been previously advised that learning scales should really be a priority, which I did half heartedly, but soon gave up/got bored and continued to carry on learning song to song.

This time 'round I thought I'd start there first. I had the idea that maybe I could learn the scales maybe in an order that would make more sense to me.

E.g I've picked a pop song, Coldplay - Creep. Chords, G, B, C, Cm

In my mind I thought I could play the scale of G, B, C, Cm in that order, maybe with the bass note of each. Does that even make sense? Then it made me question key signatures. If the song is in G, then what happens when you move to B and there's heaps more sharps to B major. My mind has just gone bamboozled.

I almost created a fake account to post this question in fear Im being absolutely ridiculous 🀣

Kind regards to all.

G

Platinum Supporter until July 22 2014
2000 Post Club Member

2000 Post Club Member
G
Hi Wayne, welcome back.