2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
42 members (bwv543, Andre Fadel, Animisha, alexcomoda, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, 10 invisible), 1,172 guests, and 282 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
OP Offline
I've been learning piano for a little over a year now, so I am still very much an early beginner. However, as I am self taught, I am sure I am developing plenty of bad habits. One that I am sure of, is relating to hand/finger posture and the playing of keys.

When playing at any moderate speed, my right hand pinky (5) has the tendency to raise up out off of the keys and hang in the air, as if I am trying to look posh while drinking tea. This is particularly the case when using finger 3 and 4 heavily. This doesn't seem to be an issue on my left hand.

From searching around it seems that is caused by me playing with the joints of the knuckle rather than the forearm. So I have diagnosed the problem - but I don't really know how to solve it!

Has anyone else had this issue, or similar problems? How do you resolve issues relating to form and posture without direct guidance from a one on one instructor?

3000 Post Club Member
Online Content
3000 Post Club Member