2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
67 members (bcalvanese, 20/20 Vision, booms, Cominut, 36251, Bruce Sato, Carey, crab89, AlkansBookcase, 9 invisible), 1,932 guests, and 272 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
C
OP Offline
C
Hello all, I was looking to get back on playing the piano, but not quite sure where to start. Hope you guys can give me some advices.

I started learning when I was around 8, and stopped learning at 16 due to family issues. I was at ABRSM level 8 equivalent before I stopped, and only played rarely on an non-weighted digital piano since then…Now I’m 34 frown

Some problems that I encountered such as very weak fingers and not able to play fast, getting rusty on some of the music theories, especially chord theories and not able to play without sheet music. I’m hoping to be able to play some higher level classical pieces and be able to play/improvise without sheet music. Usually I’m able to play the melody when I hear a music, but have no ideas what chords to go with it…

I hope to self-taught myself if possible, should I start by practicing scales, Hannon, Czerny, etc. again? Or should I look for a private teacher?

Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
Online Content