2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
34 members (busa, benkeys, Burkhard, fullerphoto, Erinmarriott, David Boyce, 20/20 Vision, Animisha, beeboss, Cominut, 4 invisible), 1,288 guests, and 287 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
P
OP Offline
P
Hi all -

This is my first post to the forum, although I've been a "lurker" for many years. The information found on this site has always been quite informative and helpful.

I've recently decided to start playing again after an almost 15 hiatus. I graduated from a college in the US with a bachelor's in piano performance, so I am accustomed to relatively high-quality instruments. As I embark on this journey of "re-learning", I'm looking to upgrade my primary instrument. I had the opportunity to play both an Estonia L190 and a Schimmel Classic 189 this weekend, and I'm looking for some feedback from the community regarding their experience. Both piano are new with manufacturer's warranties, and with the trade-in of my instruments they are essentially the same price (mid-$20K). For all intents and purposes, they're equivalent instruments, essentially leaving my personal taste to be the deciding factor.

Neither piano sounded as if they were well-voiced, and neither were in particularly good tune. I'd also note the accoustics of the sales room were horrid. Those things aren't necessarily concerning to me, as I have access to an excellent tech in my hometown (these pianos were about a 2-hour drive for me) and I know both pianos are exceptional quality.

Thoughts: