2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
39 members (Andre Fadel, BWV846, Animisha, alexcomoda, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, 11 invisible), 1,180 guests, and 317 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4
G
OP Offline
G
I am an early beginner (about 1.5 months of self study) who is struggling with moving my hands without looking at the keys. I realize this is a skill that will take years to fully develop, but I feel like I'm at a loss regarding how best to approach practicing this skill.

Perhaps my most fundamental question is this: should I be thinking of jumps in terms of how far I need to move my hands, or in terms of the absolute location of the key I will strike? That is, say I'm moving from C4 to C3 - should I be be trying to mentally encode "this is what it feels like to move my hand down an octave" (this is how I've been thinking about it), or should I be thinking "this is where the C3 key is on the keyboard"?

I have also been surprised that I've found very few exercises designed to hone this skill. I was thinking of just moving up and down the keyboard with different patterns, but thought that instead of reinventing the wheel, surely there is already an established approach that I just haven't come across.

4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
Don't worry about it and just look down. Seriously, getting the feel of big intervals is something that develops naturally over time as you play lots and lots of music with jumps.

S
PW Gold Subscriber
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
PW Gold Subscriber
S
Green check
You are combining two different issues;