2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
30 members (Ek81, Alex C, Greta99, Damien PG, HZPiano, Charles Cohen, CraiginNZ, 4 invisible), 537 guests, and 247 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
#3176985 12/12/21 09:43 AM
toyboy Offline OP
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
I'm a pianist, not a technician. I just had my technician here for a tuning, and less than a week later I noticed this problem. I'm not blaming him for it, but he wants to charge me for a usual full tuning charge just to take a look at it. I doubt this is an hour and a half long piece of work. He did mention that he might have to open up the pedal box, though, which does sound like some work. Anyway, I want to try and see what I can possibly do myself before bringing him back.

The pedal WILL dampen if I release it quickly. But anything less than that leaves some or all notes ringing. Sometimes just the notes I was just playing, other times what sounds like overtones from all the keys. If I release the pedal slowly it happens in one sort of way. If I just press the pedal ever so slightly down and release, it happens in another way. The only way now that any ringing WON'T happen is if I press the pedal down all the way and release it very quickly (basically lifting my foot off the pedal completely).