2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
76 members (brennbaer, anotherscott, BMKE, arlie, ambrozy, Animisha, accordeur, 17 invisible), 717 guests, and 303 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 3 1 2 3
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 3,183
3000 Post Club Member
Offline
3000 Post Club Member
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 3,183
With all programs closed, can't you just open Apple's "audio midi setup". Then under output select something like: 2 channel, 16bit, 44.1kHz? Then if you open Garritan, that should set to 44.1kHz.

https://support.apple.com/guide/audio-midi-setup/set-up-audio-devices-ams59f301fda/mac

What is your USB MIDI keyboard model? Maybe there is a setting there that needs adjusting.

Joined: Dec 2021
Posts: 25
E
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
E
Joined: Dec 2021
Posts: 25
When I open the midi app up it gives me the option to change the sample rate of the built in microphone but when I go on my midi keyboard it just locks on 48000. I’m so confused cause when I use garritan or whatever vst in logic I can change the sample rate to whatever but when I go to the standalone apps it just locks to 48000. My model is Williams legato iii. I looked up the manual for it and found nothing.

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 3,183
3000 Post Club Member
Offline
3000 Post Club Member
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 3,183
This is the manual
https://williamspianos.com/wp-content/uploads/usermanuals/Williams-Legato-III-Manual.pdf

In the Williams menu, did you turn LOCAL to off?

Are you using MIDI by USB or bluetooth? I would disable bluetooth in the Williams menu and use USB.

Joined: Aug 2016
Posts: 6,498
G
6000 Post Club Member
Offline
6000 Post Club Member
G
Joined: Aug 2016
Posts: 6,498
I had some minor problems with 48/96khz with Garritan, 44khz works fine.

From your description, it does indeed sound like the laptop is going into power saving (or sleeping a core on the CPU), or some kind of hard drive spin-up (I assume a MBA is entirely SSD?).

Maybe try increasing your RAM or pre-cache setting? On my M1 mac I also have best results with a low RAM allocation and small precache amount (which is non-intuitive), but one thing with Garritan is that the solution is never obvious smile


Bosendorfer D214VC ENPro, Kawai NV-10
Past: Yamaha P-85, P-105, CP50, Kawai MP11
Joined: Dec 2021
Posts: 25
E
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
E
Joined: Dec 2021
Posts: 25
I tried to lower my polophony bc I read somewhere that the higher it is the more hard it is on your cpu so I lowered it to 16 and lowered my ram allocation down to 500mb but I’m still hearing the pops and crackles. This is very frustrating considering it’s only using 300 mb to actually run the app and when I looked into my activity moniter all in all I was using half of my ram (2.2 Gb of 4) with just garritan being open. I even tried using the compact samples but that didn’t really change a thing.

Joined: Dec 2021
Posts: 25
E
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
E
Joined: Dec 2021
Posts: 25
Local makes it to where the sound only comes out of the computer. I usually have the sound coming out of my midi keyboard. I use a usb cord for all of my vsts.

Joined: Dec 2021
Posts: 25
E
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
E
Joined: Dec 2021
Posts: 25
I’m planning on getting a new MacBook with 16gb of ram so hopefully that’ll solve all of this. Really appreciate all the help!

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 3,183
3000 Post Club Member
Offline
3000 Post Club Member
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 3,183
Rather than running sound to your digital piano's speakers, try local midi.

If you run the sound ONLY out of the laptop speakers (or by connecting headphones to the laptop) do the pops disappear?

Joined: Dec 2021
Posts: 25
E
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
E
Joined: Dec 2021
Posts: 25
Nope still crackling. This is infuriating. I have every setting on my Mac to the lowest possible setting to make it work with the cost of a little latency but nothing works. I got rid of the idle problem but now it just cracks when I start playing for more than 5 seconds. I’ve tried literally everything so I think the only solution is to get a new computer.

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 3,183
3000 Post Club Member
Offline
3000 Post Club Member
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 3,183
That 2013 MacBook Air typically is the I5-4250U system at 1.3GHz with limited power and limited cooling so it is really at the limits to running a big VI real-time.

You can search the forums for newer Apple models that work well with Garritan CFX. You don't the the latest and greatest.

One alternative is an older business computer off lease. Just make sure it comes with a Windows 10 key (in case you need to reinstall windows) & a good SSD. You can search the forums for models that worked well with Garritan CFX.

A few years ago I tried running Pianoteq and Garritan CFX on a 2007 MacBook Pro and that did not go so well. Pianoteq wasn't terrible but it wasn't good either.

Joined: Dec 2021
Posts: 25
E
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
E
Joined: Dec 2021
Posts: 25
Well my birthday is comping up and I’m getting a brand new Mac with 16gb of ram so hopefully that’ll be more than enough to run garritan.

Joined: Aug 2016
Posts: 6,498
G
6000 Post Club Member
Offline
6000 Post Club Member
G
Joined: Aug 2016
Posts: 6,498
Originally Posted by extaseyy
Well my birthday is comping up and I’m getting a brand new Mac with 16gb of ram so hopefully that’ll be more than enough to run garritan.

+1. I am running CFX *flawlessly* with an M1 Mini 8GB. Not even the occasional pop, crack or hiss, and I just leave the machine on and connected 24/7. A new 16GB should be glorious.


Bosendorfer D214VC ENPro, Kawai NV-10
Past: Yamaha P-85, P-105, CP50, Kawai MP11
Joined: Jun 2020
Posts: 587
V
500 Post Club Member
Offline
500 Post Club Member
V
Joined: Jun 2020
Posts: 587
Originally Posted by extaseyy
Well my birthday is comping up and I’m getting a brand new Mac with 16gb of ram so hopefully that’ll be more than enough to run garritan.

Hopefully I am wrong in this, but you have not sorted out if the problem is indeed of the computer. It may be of the keyboard or the way you are connecting things... All the other Mac users state that they have never been forced by the hardware to have all set at 48khz. You may get a new computer and be faced with the old problem.

Joined: Dec 2021
Posts: 25
E
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
E
Joined: Dec 2021
Posts: 25
I’m also planning on getting a Yamaha p45 midi keyboard anyways. For my ssd I use wd easystore 1tb idk if it has anything to do with that. And for playing vsts on my keyboard I use a midi to keyboard cord.

Joined: Dec 2021
Posts: 25
E
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
E
Joined: Dec 2021
Posts: 25
I don’t really care about the 48khz being locked as long as it just runs smoothly without any crackling on this new computer I’m getting, than I should be fine.

Joined: Aug 2016
Posts: 6,498
G
6000 Post Club Member
Offline
6000 Post Club Member
G
Joined: Aug 2016
Posts: 6,498
I think it's not so much whether it's 44/48khz, it's just that being locked to 48khz is somehow indicative that something may be wrong with your setup.

On my Macs, I recall all sorts of weird instances where I might see 44khz or not as an option, or where 88/96khz appear and disappear. I never figured out why/how this happens or what the triggers are at any given time. But moving to a new machine and starting clean is IMO as good a way to go as you can.


Bosendorfer D214VC ENPro, Kawai NV-10
Past: Yamaha P-85, P-105, CP50, Kawai MP11
Joined: Dec 2021
Posts: 25
E
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
E
Joined: Dec 2021
Posts: 25
Yeah I understand that. I noticed that when the crackling and pops happen on garritan the “disk loss” number goes up. Would this have anything to do with my ssd that I have? I own a wd easy store 1tb. I’m wondering if that has anything to do with it?

Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 3,183
3000 Post Club Member
Offline
3000 Post Club Member
Joined: Jan 2016
Posts: 3,183
No way to know if it is the SSD other than to try a different SSD.

Oddly, some people have had luck using external USB SSD drives with VIs.

Joined: Jun 2020
Posts: 587
V
500 Post Club Member
Offline
500 Post Club Member
V
Joined: Jun 2020
Posts: 587
Are you sure that your external drive is a fast SSD? That WD name belonged to slow HDD... There are WD easystore SSDs but I think those are internal drives, not external, and not 1Tb.

Last edited by vagfilm; 01/08/22 04:31 PM.
Joined: Dec 2021
Posts: 25
E
Full Member
OP Offline
Full Member
E
Joined: Dec 2021
Posts: 25
Yeah I just checked and I have an hdd. Is there a big difference between ssd and hdd? Also could you recommend me some fast ssd’s?

Page 2 of 3 1 2 3

Moderated by  Piano World 

Link Copied to Clipboard
(ad)
Best of Piano Buyer
Piano Buyer - Read the Articles, Explore the website
(ad)
PianoDisc

PianoDisc
(ad)
Faust Harrison Pianos
Faust Harrison 100+ Steinway pianos
(ad)
Mason & Hamlin Pianos
New Topics - Multiple Forums
Questions regarding Regulation
by rickshapiro - 05/23/22 11:17 AM
Laptop Holder Advice - Korg Grandstage
by skelly - 05/23/22 11:09 AM
A fairly rare digital sensor mechanism
by Gombessa - 05/22/22 10:59 PM
Download Sheet Music
Virtual Sheet Music - Classical Sheet Music Downloads
Forum Statistics
Forums43
Topics213,191
Posts3,193,862
Members105,345
Most Online15,252
Mar 21st, 2010
Please Support Our Advertisers

Faust Harrison 100+ Steinways

Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver

 Best of Piano Buyer

PianoTeq Bechstein
Visit our online store for gifts for music lovers

Virtual Sheet Music - Classical Sheet Music Downloads



 
Help keep the forums up and running with a donation, any amount is appreciated!
Or by becoming a Subscribing member! Thank-you.
Donate   Subscribe
 
Our Piano Related Classified Ads
| Dealers | Tuners | Lessons | Movers | Restorations | Pianos For Sale | Sell Your Piano |

Advertise on Piano World
| Subscribe | Piano World | PianoSupplies.com | Advertise on Piano World |
| |Contact | Privacy | Legal | About Us | Site Map | Free Newsletter | MapleStreetMusicShop.com - Our store in Cornish Maine


© copyright 1997 - 2022 Piano World ® all rights reserved
No part of this site may be reproduced without prior written permission
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.5