2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
74 members (amc252, akse0435, 20/20 Vision, benkeys, apianostudent, Bellyman, AlkansBookcase, accordeur, 14 invisible), 2,018 guests, and 314 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
J
Jacn Offline OP
OP Offline
J
Hello everyone, I've recently acquired a 1978 Yamaha W101 and would like to bring this back to its former glory.
I understand a W101 is meant to be a good piano back in those days but of course time has taken its toll on this fine instrument.
I'm a newbie in piano and my daughter is starting out with lessons on it. I've taken some photos and a video of my daughter playing on it, i'm hoping to get advice and opinion from piano experts on this forum to guide me on how I should proceed with next steps in reviving this piano.

Photos attachments are shared here.

[color:#CC0000]Links For Photos and Video[/color]

Video clip is shared here.

W101 playing

Some things I know so far:
(1) All the hammer butt flange silk loops have broken off due to time and I need to replace these. Would anyone recommend me replacing the strings if i clean them off one by one and reglue using PVA glue by following some youtube videos ? I just have to do this 88 times. Some springs are a bit bent too, do I have to replace them or just adjustment them would be ok?