2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
56 members (Carey, brdwyguy, David Boyce, beeboss, Chris B, Cheeeeee, Dalem01, 10 invisible), 1,873 guests, and 294 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
C
OP Offline
C
Hi

Hope you are well and keeping safe

I have been playing for just over 5 years, I am 60. I work about 80 hours a month in a demanding job. I practice every day for about half an hour to hour each evening and am blessed to have a fantastic teacher, although for the first 18 months I had someone else. I never wanted to learn to just play notes I wanted to learn technique.

Although I of course struggle at times with sections understandably, I am not relaxed and too tense, I need to feel the music and play, I am trying to close my eyes and always eventually play from memory, but I am struggling.

Any suggestions I love playing but frustrated and disappointed.

Look forward to your advice

Blessings to you

L
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
L
Your progress is your progress.

Can't force it, let it run its course.

Compare it to a profession or sport. It is hard work that takes a lot of time.

It is a marathon, not a sprint.

Be realistic, if you were to pick up golf. You don't expect a hole in one ever.

Enjoy the ride, accept your limitations.

When you play, never mind who listens to you. R.Schumann.

Casio GP-400

2006 August Förster 215
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
I don't think you can play notrs without a reasonable technique, particularly as the complexities increase.