2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
52 members (80k, Alan F, Bett, belcanto89, anamnesis, anotherscott, 36251, 17 invisible), 2,513 guests, and 291 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
D
OP Offline
D
I'm not a professional audio tech, but I want to record my performances on my Yamaha P515 using a VST. I want to record using Audacity installed on my tablet PC (which also houses my VST library with my P515 hooked in as a controller. Everything works great if I'm just using the onboard voices on the P515. But to use my VST, I have to switch LOCAL CONTROL to OFF on the MIDI section of the P515 system settings. But once I do that, Audacity no longer receives a signal and does not record my performance. Is there anyone out there who knows what settings if any I can use so I can do this? Computer is hooked to P515 with a midi to usb c (thunderbolt 4) connector

thanks

2000 Post Club Member
2000 Post Club Member
Let me say first, I'm not a fan of recording VSTis with Audacity, not even sure it's possible. You can record as MIDI in a DAW like Reaper, and then run that MIDI file through any VST instrument you have, afterwards. There are some other DAWs or VSTi hosts, but I'm not familiar with any of them, like the Cantabile something, which many recommend.