2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
70 members (AlkansBookcase, 36251, benkeys, Charles Cohen, 20/20 Vision, bcalvanese, booms, Bruce Sato, Carey, 9 invisible), 1,922 guests, and 266 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 2 of 2 1 2
1000 Post Club Member
1000 Post Club Member
Hi

There isn't really a minimum practise time, as different people progress at different speeds. The simple rule is the more you practise the better you'll get.

If you start as a complete beginner and do 20mins a day you'll make decent progress for a while, then progress will slow down and eventually you'll probably give up.

I've never really timed myself in respect of practising. The idea that say I have to do 1.5 hours a day at a set time makes it seem like a job to me. I practise and play when I feel like it these days, which is most days.

But I'm mainly not a classical pianist so I don't have a 'repertoire' of pieces, though I suppose I have a non-classical repertoire. I always play the blues everytime I sit at a Piano. And certainly when I was younger, particularly in my 20s I practised a heck of a lot to develop what limited technique I have.

Cheers

Simon

Casio PX-S3000
Korg SV2S (73)

ABRSM Grade 7 distinction 2023.
Decent blues/rock Pianist.
Try to play Jazz Piano, but pretty rubbish.
Studying ABRSM grade 8 now.

4000 Post Club Member
4000 Post Club Member
My view is that if you have to set minimums then you're not really loving piano and you're bound to quit at some point. Sorry for being blunt but that's what I believe.