2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
41 members (Animisha, alexcomoda, benkeys, Burkhard, 20/20 Vision, AlkansBookcase, brennbaer, 10 invisible), 1,157 guests, and 319 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3
F
OP Offline
F
Someone in another thread noted that Onkyo, the storied Japanese audio company, has just declared bankruptcy. It appears they’re dissolving the company altogether, rather than just reorganizing (though I’m no expert on Japanese bankruptcy law).

https://www.strata-gee.com/final-curtain-falls-as-main-onkyo-company-declares-bankruptcy/

https://www.forbes.com/sites/marksp...ly-files-for-bankruptcy/?sh=6d73ed4a6f1c

My question is, how will this affect the business of Kawai, which had partnered with Onkyo on some of its digital piano technology?

I have a vested interest here, since I recently put down a deposit on and have been awaiting delivery of a Novus NV10S, which Kawai advertises as an Onkyo-partnership product. With Onkyo no longer existing, will Kawai be able to keep manufacturing this product to fulfill new orders like mine, or are people in the queue just out of luck? I would try to get my deposit back and settle for a Yamaha N1X (my second choice) if the NV10S will not be forthcoming at any reasonable point in time. But perhaps Onkyo’s role in the NV10S was complete at the time the product was designed, and Kawai is perfectly able to carry on manufacturing the product without Onkyo, according to the existing designs?

Any insights would be appreciated (from KawaiJames especially). Thanks!

K
3000 Post Club Member
3000 Post Club Member
K