2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Who's Online Now
34 members (busa, benkeys, Burkhard, fullerphoto, Erinmarriott, David Boyce, 20/20 Vision, Animisha, beeboss, Cominut, 4 invisible), 1,288 guests, and 287 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Yikes! 10000 Post Club Member
OP Offline
I'm trying to address a particular weak spot. I never had the problem of "trying to not watch my hands". I played from the sheet or from sound. I studied theory sort of "theoretically". Where I'm weak is seeing a chord played on the piano, and recognizing what it is. Not simple things like major and minor triads and sevenths in root position - but when you start having inversions, and 4-note chords in inversions. I can create them like "I want to play G7/D" and then play it - but not necessarily recognize it if it's played by someone else. I'm not that "keyboard aware".

So what might help is some kind of interactive keyboard that plays chords at random, for me to recognize. I don't need to learn what chords are; I've got that part. But seeing them on the piano and recognizing - if that makes sense.

Originally Posted by keystring