2022 our 25th year online!

Welcome to the Piano World Piano Forums
Over 3 million posts about pianos, digital pianos, and all types of keyboard instruments.
Over 100,000 members from around the world.
Join the World's Largest Community of Piano Lovers (it's free)
It's Fun to Play the Piano ... Please Pass It On!

Shop our online store for music lovers
SEARCH
Piano Forums & Piano World
(ad)
Pianoteq
Steinway Spiro Layering
(ad)
Piano Life Saver - Dampp Chaser
Dampp Chaser Piano Life Saver
(ad)
Wessell Nickel & Gross
PianoForAll
Who's Online Now
37 members (Christopher90, Alex Hutor, AndrewJCW, Burkhard, Animisha, 0day, anotherscott, Bett, AWilley, 4 invisible), 751 guests, and 266 robots.
Key: Admin, Global Mod, Mod
(ad)
Estonia Pianos
Estonia Pianos
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Hop To
Page 1 of 2 1 2
#577240 09/04/08 05:40 AM
500 Post Club Member
OP Offline
500 Post Club Member
I have long hesitated to write this.

I started learning Bach's Invention #8. Wonderful, "magnetic" piece.

It massacred my fingers like no Hanon has done.

It became so bad that every day I practiced it for more than 30 minutes I would wake up with aching fingers the morning after (only a very localised part, though, which we call "falange", that is the first third of the finger starting from the palm of the hand).

I had practised hours a day before without any pain, so I attributed the problem not to my wrong posture of tension etc., but merely to the kind of movement very often required by the piece (similar to the first 10-12 Hanon exercises, though Bach's genius makes it sound so wonderful).

I was so intrigued by the music, so fascinated, and so stubborn, that I wanted to go on with the piece irrespective of the pain, just practicing less.

I have finished "learning" the piece some 10 days ago and am now polishing it. It's addictive.