Piano World Home Page
Hi folks

I am a 53 year old beginner. I have been playing for a year and have recently swapped teachers after my previous teacher gave up teaching (I think I broke him).

My new teacher is very fastidious and attentive to detail. She has spotted that I curl my (usually right hand) little finger right back tightly under the palm. I don't know why I do this. I think its muscle memory from using a mouse for so many years at a computer. I don't have any disability as such.

Does anyone have any experience of this? Should I tape my pinkie to my ring finger when using the pc?

Thanks for reading,

Jennings
Posted By: dmd Re: I hook my little finger tight under my palm! - 11/24/21 02:11 PM
Originally Posted by OldJennings
Hi folks

I am a 53 year old beginner. I have been playing for a year and have recently swapped teachers after my previous teacher gave up teaching (I think I broke him).

My new teacher is very fastidious and attentive to detail. She has spotted that I curl my (usually right hand) little finger right back tightly under the palm. I don't know why I do this. I think its muscle memory from using a mouse for so many years at a computer. I don't have any disability as such.

Does anyone have any experience of this? Should I tape my pinkie to my ring finger when using the pc?

Thanks for reading,

Jennings

Your teacher doesn't have any ideas on how to correct this ?
Have you tried moving your wrist up and down a little (within a centimeter amplitude if you can) between the notes to relax your hand? It could be that you hands are just tense...
Should I tape my pinkie to my ring finger when using the pc?
I really think you need to get rid of that bad habit, but a more peaceful alternative would be to operate top mouse buttons with fingers 345, it will likely both reduce tension and help develop dexterity of the 5th finger.