Piano World Home Page
does anyone have advice on how to best practice hand independency?

I do have exercises already (simple arpeggios and melody), but I wonder whether there are other things that help, too?

I assume it is essential to have a metronome running?
does counting the rhythm out loud help?
tapping the foot?
are there certain backing tracks that help sticking to the rhythm?

cheers
Can you give us a better idea what you mean by hand independency? The term means different things to different people. People often think of the music of Bach as requiring hand independency but I think many composers require HI. What kind and what level of music do you play now and wish to play in the future ?

I don't think practice with a metronome has much to do with learning HI.
Posted By: Ido Re: what does help practicing hand independency? - 01/13/22 05:16 PM
Anything by Bach, or if your an absolute beginner - some baroque music by other composers.
Frankly, any piano piece you'll play will require some form of hand independence and it will develop over time. No specific exercises are needed.
What does metronome has to do with it?
There is a series of books, called Technic is fun, and the first book, Elementary A, has certainly helped me a lot with gaining hand independence.

When starting a new piece I'd learn the notes at half tempo first and play the beats as accurately as possible. After that play with a metronome to correct inconsistencies.
Anything by Johann Sebastian Bach, depending on your level.

For beginners this set is also good:
https://imslp.org/wiki/200_Short_Two-Part_Canons,_Op.14_(Kunz,_Konrad_Max)
Speaking about exercises, you may proceed with playing scales in contrary motion and then scales in thirds and sixths, where the top line is played with your right hand and the bottom line with your left hand.